Country profile: Lebanese Republic

Flag_of_Lebanon.svg NATIONAL


Lebanon is a parliamentary democracy, which implements a special system known as confessionalism. This system is intended to deter sectarian conflict and attempts to fairly represent the demographic distribution of the 18 recognized religious groups in government. High-ranking offices are reserved for members of specific religious groups. The President, for example, has to be a Maronite Christian, the Prime Minister a Sunni Muslim, the Speaker of the Parliament a Shi’a Muslim, the Deputy Prime Minister and the Deputy Speaker of Parliament Eastern Orthodox.

The President is elected by the unicameral Parliament (Majlis an-Nuwwab)

Le Liban est une République démocratique parlementaire centralisée.

President: Michel Sleiman


Prime Minister : Tammam Salam

The Council of Ministers is the central unit where strategic administrative decisions are  taken. There are 22 ministries and 29 ministers.

ADMINISTRATION Ministries dealing with public administration issues are :


In Arabic « Majlis an-Nuwwab ». The Parliament is unicameral.

President of Parliament : Nabih Berri. The Parliament is composed of 128 MP’s.


The Administration Structure in Lebanon is characterized by both centralization and decentralization.

Read the Lebanon Public Administration profile by UNPAN

Lebanon is divided into 6 governorates-Regions- mohafazat.The Mohafazah (Mohafazat in plural) is an administrative division (Governorate). It is generally divided into several Kaza (Qada’a) and generally the administrative center (capital) is the city which is the most important in the region. Only Beirut and Mohafazah of Aakkar have no division.

Each Mohafazah is headed by a Mohafez (governor), title parallel to the post of “préfet” in France. The Mohafez is appointed by decree of the Council of Ministers. He is hierarchically subordinate to the Minister of the Interior.

  • Beirut
  • Mount Lebanon
  • North Lebanon
  • Beqaa
  • Nabatiye
  • South Lebanon

In 2003, the number of Mohafazah increased from 6 to 8, with the creation of two additional Mohafazah to the Mohafazah of Baalbek-Hermel which are the Mohafazah of Beqaa and Mohafazah of Aakkar – formerly included within the Mohafazah of North-Lebanon. They are not implemented yet.

The Kaza/District (Qada’a) is an administrative division of the Mohafazah (Muhafazah). Lebanon has 25 Kaza in 8 Mohafazah (Muhafazah) since July 2003. Prior to this date, Kaza of Aakkarbelonged to the Mohafazah of North-Lebanon and Kaza of Baalbek and Kaza of Hermel were part of the Beqaa Mohafazah. At the head of each there is a Kaza Qaimaqam,. The administrative center of each Kaza is often located in the largest city in the region.

The Municipalities (710)

Municipalities have the opportunity to gather (or can be imposed by the Minister of Interior) in Federation of municipalities to exercise powers or carry out projects that a municipality could not develop alone:



Centre of Documentation, Research and Expertise of the NSA (Centre de Documentation , de Recherche et d’Expertise (CDRE) de l’ENA) –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *